Bringing you the best new books this May!

Discover the best new books published this month including epic YA fantasy, heartfelt adventures and laugh-out-loud picture books

The Immortal Games
gbp prices
Offer price: £6.99
Rewards/RRP: £8.99
Product ordering

The Immortal Games by Annaliese Avery

An explosive romantasy YA, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Lore.“A thrilling, fast-paced, and brutal tale of revenge, loyalty, courage, and friendship.

Every Lunar Eclipse signifies the beginning of The Immortal Games: an epic set of games played by the Gods of Olympus, with randomly-selected humans as their Tokens. The stakes are high; the Gods covet entertainment and glory above all else, for the Tokens, it’s about survival. 17-year-old Ara wants revenge. Revenge on the Gods for allowing her older sister to die in the Games. She’s determined to be selected as a Token and find a weapon powerful enough to kill a God. But when she’s plucked from the clutches of death by Hades, God of the Underworld, the odds are stacked against her. Hades is the outcast of the Gods, and the only one who has never won the games. But he soon realises that Ara does not fear death, just as she does not fear him, and when a wager with Zeus and Poseidon puts both their futures at stake, the games take on a new meaning. With each challenge, the games become more brutal. Can Ara put aside her rage and survive?

The Power of Welcome: True tales of displaced people
gbp prices
Offer price: £8.80
Rewards/RRP: £10.99
Product ordering

The Power of Welcome by Marie Bamyani, Ada Jusic, Nadine Kaadan, Ramzee and Sonya Zhurenko

A powerful graphic novel exploring the struggle for survival of displaced people.

With true stories from Ukraine, Somalia, Bosnia, Syria and Afghanistan, this moving book collects important tales about the real journeys of people forced from their homes by conflict.

Finn Jones Was Here
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Finn Jones Was Here by Simon James Green

A funny, heartbreaking story about life and loss, and making every second count.

Eric’s best friend, Finn Jones, was the world’s biggest prankster. Now Eric can’t believe Finn’s not here anymore. ...Or is he? Eric seems to be getting messages from beyond the grave, and as he follows Finn’s wild, cryptic instructions, his hope grows that he’ll find Finn laughing at the end. The journey also brings memories – and a truth that seems impossible to accept.

Every Word A Lie
gbp prices
Offer price: £6.99
Rewards/RRP: £8.99
Product ordering

Every Word a Lie by Sue Wallman

Award-winning author Sue Wallman tells a nail-biting story of a catfishing prank that gets out of control … and gets deadly.

Two friends, Amy and Stan, plan revenge on their prankster friend Hollie by catfishing her as her crush. They only mean to do it for a day or two – but then Hollie ends up dead. As the catfish continues to strike others, Amy needs to find out: who is really in control of the catfish? Can she trust anyone? And is she the killer’s next target?

Ellie Engle Saves Herself
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Ellie Engle Saves Herself by Leah Johnson

In a small-town where nothing ever happens, prepare for something extraordinary!

12-year-old Ellie and her best friend Abby, live in the small town of Plainsboro where nothing ever happens. Ellie is an unassuming and unspectacular comic book geek, and she idolises her best friend Abby who is cool, chic and talented. But when a freak earthquake strikes the small town, Ellie learns that she has acquired an unimaginable power… And when a video of her power suddenly goes viral, Ellie is thrown into the spotlight, a place she does not want to be.

The Castle Rock Mystery Gang (DNFO)
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Castle Rock Mystery Crew by Vicky McClure

The first laugh-out-loud, twisty mystery for young readers by amazing actress and dementia campaigner, Vicky McClure.

10-year-old Jase is spending the summer holidays at the Castle Rock caravan park with his auntie and grandma, who has dementia. Expecting to be totally bored, he meets three other curious, brave, funny kids and together they solve the mystery of a series of thefts happening across the site. The finger of blame has started pointing at the children – they must find the true culprit to clear their names and see justice done! A warm-hearted, everyone’s-welcome, wonderfully plotted and page-turning mystery with an authentic, kind depiction of a relative with dementia at its heart.

The Inflatables 2
gbp prices
Offer price: £3.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

The Inflatables 2: Total Splashdown by Beth Garrod & Jess Hitchman with illustrations by Chris Danger

Bouncy BFFs Cactus, Flamingo, Donut, and Watermelon are ready for a fresh wave of drama in this hilariously action-packed graphic novel bind-up!

Holey sprinkles! Donut’s going on a treasure hunt. The prize? The most delicious cookie ever tasted. But to find it, he needs to sneak his inflata-pals out of the water park, survive shark-infested seas, and take on a petrifying Pickle. Will the holey hero make it back unpopped, or will the cookie crumble once and for all? Ready, set, BLOW! The water park is hosting the Airlympic Games, and Watermelon is ready to juice her opponents (especially Pineapple, who’s rotten to the core). But this year, the games are a team competition. Can Watermelon pump up her inflata-buddies to go for the gold or will Pineapple’s sneaky tricks deflate them all? It’s do or dive time!

Serpent of the Sands: A Brightstorm World Adventure
gbp prices
Offer price: £5.99
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Serpent of the Sands by Vashti Hardy

A leap of faith in a race against time.

When Princess Ganzorig’s uncle falls gravely ill, she sneaks out of the Citadel to find a powerful cure, said to be guarded by the Serpent of the Sands. But is it only a story? Is she chasing false hope?

But the further Gan travels, the more secrets are revealed – and the more she questions everything she believes…

Where's Wonky Donkey - a felt flap book
gbp prices
Offer price: £6.40
Rewards/RRP: £7.99
Product ordering

Where’s Wonky Donkey? by Craig Smith and Katz Cowley

A gorgeous lift-the-felt-flap book in the bestselling Wonky Donkey series.

Everyone’s favourite donkey characters are now available as beautiful cased board books with soft felt flaps for toddlers to lift and learn. Hee Haw! Where has Wonky Donkey gone? Can you find him? Lift the colourful felt flaps in this fun chunky board book, perfect for small hands, until you find Wonky Donkey!

On the Road
gbp prices
Offer price: £4.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

Horrible Histories: On the Road by Terry Deary and Martin Brown

Put the pedal to the metal! Discover all the foul facts behind the story of cars and automobiles across the world with history’s most horrible headlines: motor edition.

The master of making history fun, Terry Deary, turns his attention to the road. From scalding steam engines to preposterous propellor-powered vehicles, awful accidents to rebellious road raiders, cursed cars and risky racers, it’s all in Horrible Histories: On the Road.

A Life Story: King Charles III
gbp prices
Offer price: £3.99
Rewards/RRP: £6.99
Product ordering

A Life Story: King Charles III by Sally Morgan and Sarah Papworth

King Charles III: environmental activist, monarch and head of the Commonwealth.

Read all about the life of King Charles III, from his early days at boarding school and watching his mother become queen to his dedicated work as an environmental activist and becoming king himself, this book will take you on a royal tour through King Charles III’s life. Celebrate the king’s coronation and the beginning of his reign with this book that shines a light on the wonderful achievements that form King Charles III’s legacy. Did you know that Charles has a frog named after him? Or that he’s a qualified pilot and diver? How about that Charles is an accomplished artist? Find out everything there is to know about Great Britain’s newest king with this remarkable history book.

Browse the rest of our new releases this month!

You can find all these books and more on the Scholastic shop.

Similar Posts

All categories

Blog home