What to Look Out For This May

may banner.jpg

Put a spring in your step this May with lots of exciting bookish content! Look out for exciting new books, check out our jam-packed schedule of virtual author visits, and discover amazing free resources for you to download! To help you keep up to date, we’re rounding up just a few of the things you can look out for from us this month in children’s books, education, Book Clubs, and more.

Scholastic Schools Live Spring Events

may ssl schedule - primary (002).png

Join us for a jam-packed schedule of Scholastic Schools Live events this May! Find exciting events from brilliant authors and illustrators including Mo O’Hara, Ivor Baddiel, Onyinye Iwu, Vashti Hardy, Nick Sharratt and many more!

You can still register for your place! Simply head over to our Scholastic Live website and reserve your spot for each event. We can’t wait to see you there!


New books coming out this May

Check out our exciting new titles publishing this month! Get lost in exciting adventures, laugh-out-loud with funny fiction and get the latest instalments from your favourite authors. Discover all the books publishing this month.

Future Hero

Future Hero: Race to Fire Mountain

The first book in a major new series: FUTURE HERO – featuring high-octane adventure, perfect for fans of Black Panther!

Destiny is Calling…

When Jarell discovers that the fantasy world he is obsessed with doodling is actually real, he is launched into an incredible adventure. Ulfrika, the land of his ancestors, is in trouble and he is the hero they need. With the help of brave and wise-cracking Kimisi, Jarell must stop the evil Ikala. The future of Ulfrika depends on it…

The Fart that Changed the World

The Fart That Changed the World

A high-energy, laugh-out-loud, fully illustrated adventure story by much-loved actor Stephen Mangan and talented artist Anita Mangan.

The last thing Jack expected when he bungee-jumped at the fairground was to go plummeting right through the ground into the weird, wonderful Rooms… There he must face a series of puzzles and traps alongside a mysterious girl called Cally, in order for them to find their way home. Throw in a murderous polar bear, hundreds of tiny yet ferocious lions, some mind-blowing riddles, and get ready for a hilarious, helter-skelter adventure like no other!

Unlock creativity and adventure in your class with special teaching resources, and watch videos from Stephen Mangan

Britain's Smartest Kid ... On Ice!

Britain’s Smartest Kid… On Ice!

These brainy kids are a SMASH hit! Young Marsham needs to survive a TV show competition where they don’t just test trivia knowledge, they test everything… Marsham’s gran signs him up for his favourite TV show, Britain’s Smartest Kid, but under a different name.

He’s in disguise because he knows being clever only gets him into trouble with bullies at school. But the show has surprises in store – including the fact that some of the challenges will be held on ice! The competition is fierce, and one of the contestants will stop at nothing to win. Can Marsham outsmart the others to claim the prize without revealing his true identity – or falling flat on his face?

Download Britain’s Smartest Kid… on Ice! Trivia Cards!

Aru Shah and the Nectar of Immortality

Aru Shah and the Nectar of Immortality

The fifth fast-paced fantasy adventure starring Aru Shah!

Aru only has until the next full moon to stop the Sleeper from gaining access to the nectar of immortality, which will grant him infinite power. Her quest will have the Pandavas calling on old friends, meeting new allies, and facing fearsome trials, like…performing in a rock concert?

When the moment of confrontation finally arrives, it’s up to Aru to decide who deserves immortality, the devas or the asuras. The most unexpected answer will come from a most unexpected place…

Scholastic Book Clubs: Books of the Month


Goldilocks and the Three Bears

Every month our Book Club editors choose a Book of the Month for each age range – the perfect stories to share at home or in the classroom. Take a look at our May 2022 Books of the Month and why our experts picked them!

Get Involved!

Britain's Smartest Kid ... On Ice! Trivia Card Game

Could YOU be Britain’s Smartest Kid?

A Brain stretching trivia game based on Britain’s Smartest Kid… On Ice! by Ivor Barriel.

Print and cut out each of the trivia cards in this activity pack. You and your friends can test each other to find out which of you is Britain’s Smartest Kid!

The game is available to download here.

Jubilee Activity Pack

Jubilee Activity Pack

Create your own bunting, mix-and-match princesses and knights, count castle features and make your own crown with these fun activities to celebrate the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee.

These activities are available to download here.

Education

may phonics facebook 1.jpg

Our NEW Phonics Book Bag Readers, for phases 3 and 4, are out on 5th May.

With fun stories and bold illustrations, our Phonics Book Bag Readers are perfect for supporting children’s phonic knowledge and early reading skills.

Find phonics for phase 3 here.

Find phonics for phase 4 here.

New Story Corner activities with more to come in May…

Discover brand new story corner activities for your favourite stories including The Tiger Who Came to Tea and Tabby McTat. Look out for new activities coming soon, including for The Proudest Blue!

The Tiger Who Came to Tea
Tabby McTat Tenth Anniversary Edition (PB)
The Proudest Blue

To make sure you don’t miss out on any of the other exciting things coming your way this month, follow us on Facebook and Twitter!





Blog home